top of page

Energy Efficiency Champion Award

On June 4th, a select group of students and two staff were invited to attend the Alberta Emerald Foundation's Award Gala which was held at Grant MacEwan University in Edmonton. This group represented our school's energy projects with great pride as they met with many dignitaries and sponsors. They were chosen by their peers to represent the three teams of students working on energy projects; from Team Wind Jesse James and Noah Jacula, from Team Solar Jaeanna Saskiw and Lucas Dubelt, and representing Team Biofuel Sam O'Reilly and Bailey Dmytriw. MacKenzie Evans and Willy Wiebe were students who participated in the eco-classroom construction and pop can heater project.

We are extremely proud of all our students at New Myrnam School and the Myrnam Outreach & Homeschool Centre as they continue to work very hard toward creating and improving energy projects both on a large and small scale. Students designed and constructed our eco-classroom, created a solar tracking array from a grain auger, manufactured a wind turbine that can generate electricity, fabricated a biofuel digester made from common materials and made a passive heater from recycled pop cans.

Students learn their curriculum through hands-on inquiry based projects. Through these projects, students are able to gain valuable life skills like welding or woodworking in this practical application.

Thank you to the Alberta Emerald Foundation and Energy Efficiency Alberta for supporting us through our vision of energy efficiency!

For more details about this award and project, as well as a link to the video produced by our award sponsors, please visit the link attached!

Alberta Emerald Foundation - Program

The naming of New Myrnam School as the recipient of the Energy Efficiency Champion

Video produced by the award sponsors

Featured Posts